A TIME TRAVELLER’S GUIDE TO ISTANBUL ( free ebook download )

Image result for A TIME TRAVELLER'S GUIDE TO ISTANBUL ( free ebook download )This story takes place during one lunar cycle in the summer of 2013. A man takes his two daughters to one of the world’s great cities that exists in the center of history and our maps. Along the way they meet some fascinating characters, and explore the complex relationship between imaginary time, existentialism, Islam, Christianity, and the East and West. The sights and sounds of Turkey make this a fun journey for who ever decides to read this book. Reading this book will make you want to travel to Turkey. This is Luther Hughes’ sixth novel.

Excerpt

That was me back in 2013 driving my 1993 camper van down the Interstate into the night. We were far enough into that night that it was both too late and too early. Where were all those red taillights ahead of me heading? What story do the contents of all these vehicles cruising down the Interstate at this hour tell?

Our story begins in a camper van cruising down I-20 East near Grovetown, Georgia, and ends in Taksim Square in Istanbul, Turkey. This story begins in the middle of the night and ends in the middle of the day. The whole thing covers one lunar cycle in 2013. I wrote this story in 2015.

I am a time traveler.

EUROPE IN THE MIDDLE AGES

The history of Mediaeval Europe is so vast a subject that the attempt to deal with it in a small compass must entail either severe compression or what may appear at first sight reckless omission.

The path of compression has been trodden many times, as in J. H. Robinson’s Introduction to the History of Western Europe, or in such series as the ‘Periods of European History’ published by Messrs. Rivingtons for students, or text-books of European History published by the Clarendon Press and Messrs. Methuen.

It has been my object not so much to supply students with facts as to make Mediaeval Europe live, for the many who, knowing nothing of her history, would like to know a little, in the lives of her principal heroes and villains, as well as in the tendencies of her classes, and in the beliefs and prejudices of her thinkers. This task I have found even more difficult than I had expected, for limits of space have insisted on the omission of many events and names I would have wished to include. These I have sacrificed to the hope of creating reality and arousing interest, and if I have in any way succeeded I should like to pay my thanks first of all to Mr. Henry Osborn Taylor for his two volumes of The Mediaeval Mind that have been my chief inspiration, and then to the many authors whose names and books I give elsewhere, and whose researches have enabled me to tell my tale.

IMPRESSIONS OF EGYPT

In November of 2010 I spent a little over a week in Egypt. I was fascinated and humbled by the history and culture of the country.

This travelogue isn’t a picture-book; there are far better pictures available on the internet and in travel magazines than the thousand plus I clicked with my point-and-shoot.

It is all about the impressions, emotions and implications that no picture can convey, but something that can only be experienced when you bask in the glorious Mediterranean sun in Alexandria, are belittled by the sentinel pyramids at Giza, come to terms with the engineering feat of relocating Abu Simbel, appreciate the historic grandeur of the museum-city of Luxor, or relive the romance of the Nile as you drift past gently-swaying date palms and white-sailed feluccas.

Douglas Misquita is a thriller writer from Mumbai, India. His books have been enthusiastically received by fans of the action-adventure thriller genres

download this ebook for free

 

 

Leave a Reply

